Arkansas has received $14.2 million in federal money for emergency repairs to parts of the state’s highway system damaged by severe weather, the Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department said last week.

Logan County is one of 43 eligible for the funding.

The money, provided through the Federal Highway Administration’s Emergency Relief Program, will fund repairs to highways damaged by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred between Dec. 23, 2015, and Jan. 22, 2016.

Flooding caused extensive pavement damage and erosion at bridges and culverts, and the storms triggered erosion and landslides on many highway shoulders and embankments, the Highway Department said.

The flooding caused by the heavy rains closed 21 roads and highways and shifting grounds caused a rupture in the water line servicing the Logan County Detention Center in Paris. The heavy rains also caused a River Flood Warning for Logan County when the Arkansas River climbed to as high as 370.5 feet, the highest since the completion of the river navigation system in 1969.

“FEMA has already reimbursed us for 75 percent of the damage,” County Judge Ray Gack said Monday. “We got our last check for $73,300 last month. For the December flood, FEMA paid a total of $316,312 and the state paid around $50,000. The state still owes us $12,216.”

A Federal Disaster Declaration was signed by President Barak Obama in February 2016.

In addition to Logan the following counties are eligible for disaster relief: Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Drew, Franklin, Madison, Ouachita, Perry, Polk, Searcy, Washington, Baxter, Chicot, Crawford, Jackson, Jefferson, Little River, Marion, Montgomery, Sebastian, Bradley, Clay, Desha, Faulkner, Greene, Johnson, Randolph, Scott, Sevier, White, Yell, Boone, Izard, Lawrence, Monroe, Pike, Newton, Dallas, Independence, Mississippi, Newton and Woodruff.

On Dec. 10, 2016, Congress provided $1 billion in supplemental emergency relief funds to address a growing backlog of emergency relief funds needed nationwide.

(The Arkansas News Bureau of Little Rock contributed information to this report.)