The last day for Arkansans to assess cars, boats and other personal property without a late penalty is Wednesday, May 31, according to Logan County Assessor Shannon Cotton.
Cotton urges county residents to use www.countyservice.net to take care of their assessment and get reminders for other important government deadlines throughout the year.
It is important for Arkansans to assess on time to avoid paying a 10 percent penalty on their property tax bill and to streamline their car tag renewal process. Arkansas law requires drivers to assess their vehicles, pay property taxes and have current insurance before they can renew their registration. Roughly 30 percent of Arkansas drivers who attempt to renew their vehicle registration online each year at arstar.com cannot complete their renewal until they assess. These drivers often end up visiting a revenue office to assess.
In addition to assessing on the web site, you can assess in person at the Logan County Assessor’s offices in Paris and Booneville. The offices, located in county courthouses, are open from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. You can also assess over the phone by calling 963-2716 or 1-479-675-3942.
Any remodels or additions to real estate should also be reported, Cotton said. If you have any questions, contact the assessor’s offices at the above numbers. You can check real estate records online at www.arcountydata.com