Gov. Asa Hutchinson announced recently that the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, has awarded $2,824,799 in grants for projects in 47 Arkansas counties — including Logan County — through its County Courthouse Restoration Grant, Historic Preservation Restoration Grant and Main Street Downtown Revitalization Grant programs.

Four groups in Logan County were awarded grants at a ceremony in Little Rock held recently.

Logan County received a $150,000 County Courthouse Restoration Grant to restore the columns at the 1908 courthouse in Paris. Union Church and School near Paris received a $10,000 Historic Preservation Restoration Grant (HPRG) for restoration work and electrical upgrades. Mount Salem Church and School near Paris received a $1,683 HPRG to replace its non-historic windows. The Paris Downtown Network received a $1,000 Downtown Revitalization Grant.

Nineteen counties shared $1,562,946 in County Courthouse Restoration Grants, which are financed through Real Estate Transfer Tax funds distributed by the Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council for rehabilitation of historic county courthouses across Arkansas. Funding requests totaled $4,618,440.

For more information on the AHPP’s grant programs, write the agency at 1500 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to or visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.