Logan County Judge Gus Young enacted a county wide ban on outdoor burning Wednesday about 1 p.m.

Young’s declaration came a day after Arkansas Forestry Commission officials announced that bans had been declared in 19 counties. Besides Young, at least five other county judges have also followed suit as of Wednesday.

Arkansas wildfire danger will continue to be a problem Thursday and Friday, according to the Forestry Commission. Humidity levels across most of the state may be lower than 35 percent to 40 percent and wind gusts may exceed 10 mph, both of which contribute to high fire activity.

Combustible debris (such as dead leaves, pine needles, and dead grass) easily catch and spread fire during the current weather conditions. Eight wildfires Wednesday burned 108 acres. Six fires are still currently burning in Drew, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Randolph, and Yell Counties. Fires are significantly down due to Burn Bans and little wind, which is due to change tomorrow.

The AFC still has all of Arkansas under a moderate fire danger warning, except for centrally located counties – Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, White, and Van Buren County all remain under high fire danger conditions.

Active Burn Bans (26) have been declared by County Judges in the following Arkansas counties: Boone, Benton, Clark, Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Howard, Independence, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Logan, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Saline, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington, and White. Visit www.arkfireinfo.org for an updated Burn Ban map, updated by the AFC Dispatch Center around the clock.

To report a wildfire, or inquire about wildfire danger, call the AFC Dispatch Center at 1-800-468-8834. To report an emergency, dial 911. Stay updated on AFC updates and warnings at www.arkfireinfo.org or facebook.com/ArkansasForestryCommission.