The longest serving school superintendent and a long-time school board member have been selected for induction into the Paris Hall of Fame. Induction will take place at graduation ceremonies for the Paris High School on Friday, May 17 at 7:30 p.m. in the gymnasium at Paris High School.

The hall’s Class of 2013 is composed of William S. Morgan, who served 30 years as school superintendent, and Ron Trusty, a PHS graduate who served 25 years on the Paris School Board.

Individuals inducted into the Hall of Fame, which was established in 2008, are selected by a seven-member committee composed of school staff and board members as well as members of the community. Appointments to the hall are approved by the Paris School Board. The Paris Hall of Fame was established to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to school, community or country.

Trusty, who was raised in Paris, graduated from Paris High School in 1977. He then went to the University of Arkansas where he played offensive tackle for the Razorbacks from 1977 to 1981. After a brief stint with the Denver Broncos, Trusty returned to Paris in 1981 and established the Logan County Insurance Agency in 1982.

Trusty served on the Paris School Board from 1984 until 2009. During that time, he served three terms as board president. Also, during that time, the school district built a gymnasium at Paris Elementary School, built Paris Middle School, which was later converted into Paris High School, and secured passage of a millage increase to make that conversion possible. During the time Trusty was on the school board, the district had five school superintendents.

Trusty was also a member of the Boys and Girls Club of Paris board for 20 years, serving three years as board chairman.

Morgan was school superintendent from 1918 until his retirement in 1948. The football field at Paris High School, which was then located on 10th Street, was named in his honor.

With Trusty and Morgan entering the Hall of Fame, there are now 12 members. Others named to the hall include Bentley Allen, Dr. John Frank Smith, Janice Woodward Calloway, Lee Johns Lane, James Bridges, Reese Rowland, James Lawrence Neihouse, Rolla M. Breed, George Dombek and Chester Koprovic.