At press time, locals were atop five of the 10 divisions in the Arkansas State Golf Association Player of the Year standings.

Mark Dolven of Maumelle leads the men’s division; Bill Burkhalter of Maumelle is atop the mid-senior (40+) age group; Bill Wrentz of Cabot leads the super senior (63+) list; Connor Gaunt of Cabot tops the junior boys standings and MacKenzie Lee of North Little Rock leads the junior girls list.

In the men’s race, Dolven has 145 points after tying for fifth at Fianna Hills, for 14th in the U.S. Open qualifying and winning the Hot Springs Country Club Men’s Stroke. Chris Jenkins, who plays out of the Country Club of Arkansas, is third with 130. Other local golfers on the list include Nick Zimmerman of North Little Rock, 11th with 60 points; Gaunt, 24th with 27.5; Ryan Turner of Sherwood, tied for 34th with 4; and Trey Schaap of Maumelle and Logan Stephens of Cabot, tied for 36th with 3.33.

Burkhalter has 300 points in the mid-senior race after winning the Arkansas Open, taking second at Fianna Hills and Harbor Oaks and winning the Rebsamen Park Stroke/Little Rock City Championship. Schaap is second with 230 points. Jeff King of Lonoke is third with 190. Brett Lukas of Sherwood is tied for 13th with 30.

In the super senior division, Wrentz has 350 points after tying for second in the Arkansas Open, winning at Fianna Hills and Harbor Oaks, taking fifth at Hot Springs Country Club and first at Rebsamen/Little Rock City Championship. Other locals on the list are Gary Whitt of Cabot, third with 166 points; Clark Fitts of North Little Rock, fourth with 115; Jim Balch of Maumelle, sixth with 106; David Lawrence of Sherwood, tied for ninth with 50; Jim Smith of Sherwood, 13th with 30; and Terry Hartwick of North Little Rock, 17th with 4.

Gaunt holds a big lead in the junior boys race with 475 points. He finished second at Shadow Valley, third in the Greater Little Rock Junior Championship, first in the ASGA Monk Wade Junior Classic, tied for fourth in the Southern Bancorp Junior Invitational and first in last week’s Arkansas Junior Amateur Championship at Fianna Hills, where he shot 69-67—136 for a six-stroke win.

Other locals among the junior boys standings are Hyun Je Lee of North Little Rock, third with 295 points; Blaine Calhoon of Ward, fourth with 228; Caleb Miller of Cabot, 14th with 70; Hunter Walker of Sherwood, 15th with 59; Logan Stephens of Cabot, tied for 18th with 35; Hagen Sanchez of Maumelle, 28th with 4; and Ryan Robinson of Lonoke, tied for 30th with 2.

In the junior girls race, Lee also has a big lead after taking second at Shadow Valley before winning her next four (Greater Little Rock, Monk Wade, Southern Bancorp and the Arkansas Junior Amateur, where she shot 71-72—143). Elizabeth Moon of Forrest City is second with 280 points. Other locals among the leaders are Josie Roberson of Maumelle, sixth with 179; Alexis Montgomery of Maumelle, ninth with 140; and Lauren Loeb of Maumelle, 14th with 64.

In men’s masters division (70+), Phil Smith of Lonoke stands sixth with 40 points. Charlie Angel of Hot Springs is atop the list with 150.

The only division with no locals among the leaders is senior men (53+). There are no standings yet for women or senior women.


Upcoming on the ASGA’s designated circuit: Arkansas Amateur Championship, Texarkana CC, June 14-16; Bubba Smart Junior Stroke, Pine Bluff CC, June 19-20; Trusted Choice Big “I” state qualifying, Ridge Pointe CC, Jonesboro, June 21-22; The Course at Eagle Mountain Men’s Stroke, Batesville, June 23-24.