The Lady Eagle basketball team had an amazing season and because of that several members of the team have earned multiple awards from the conference, state, and area dream teams. The Eagle basketball team struggled at times throughout the season but came on strong when they needed to an advanced to the regional tournament and for this a couple players earned awards. Getting to where they did, both the Eagles and Lady Eagles were encouraged by coaches who also earned awards.

After finishing co-conference champions, runner up in the district tournament, and regional champions, the Lady Eagle basketball team made it all the way to the semifinals before being knocked out of the state tournament. Playing this deep into the state tournament and because of all the success they had throughout the season, the Lady Eagles had seven players make All-Conference; two make All-State; one make All-State Tournament Team; and two chosen as All-Star Dream team members of the Ft. Smith Radio/Television group.

Earning All-Conference honors were Christa Huber, Matti Huber, Hannah Simmons, Morgan Highfield, Kytan Tencleve, Lacy Diaz, and Lycia Peevy.

Senior Christa Huber and freshman Lycia Peevy were rewarded for their play in the state tournament by being named All-State. Huber was also named to the All-State Tournament Team and is an All-Star Nominee. All these awards are voted on by the coaches in the conference, region, and state.

Named to the Fort Smith Radio and Television All-Star Dream Team were senior Christa Huber and sophomore Morgan Highfield.

The Eagle basketball team was not quite as successful as the Lady Eagle team but they did have a much better season than it looked like they were going to have at the beginning of the season. In fact, a basket at the buzzer in regionals is the only thing that stood between the Eagles and a spot in the state tournament. Two players from the team were recognized by being named All-Conference and to the All-Star Dream Team.

Earning these honors were sophomore Wyatt Nehus and junior Matthew Fitzjurls. Fortunately for the Eagles, both of these players and some other very good players will be back and will be gunning for that state tournament berth.

In addition to players earning awards, both Paris coaches were also recognized for their team’s accomplishments by earning awards. Coach Mike Foster was named the junior boys coach of the year for the success his junior high boys basketball team had. The junior Eagles were undefeated in conference play to win the conference and then won the district tournament. Coach Toby Tevebaugh’s senior Lady Eagles’ successful year earned him an All Star Coach nomination.

Congratulations to all these players and the coaches on very successful seasons!